Among the first Dutch black metal bands in the early nineties, Countess have always set themselves apart from other bands by a fierce loyalty to their old school influences. For almost three decades, while fashions came and went, Countess stayed true to their vision and thus earned a worldwide cult status in the metal underground.

In spite of their sworn allegiance to metal orthodoxy, Countess have never shied from innovation. In 1994 they created the first black metal song with Dutch lyrics (Bloed In De Sneeuw), in 1995 the first black metal love ballad (Blood On My Lips) and in 1997 were the first band to take a rocking approach to the genre (Hell's Rock & Roll).

Over the course of 30 years and 16 full-length albums, Countess' sound has evolved from the raw black metal of the early releases towards a more traditional heavy metal-influenced style, culminating in a seamless integration of heavy and black metal elements.

In 2014 the band returned to the stage after a long period of not having played live. Since then, Countess have performed impressive shows at numerous prestigious metal festivals in their own country, Belgium, Germany, Denmark and Finland.

The band's new full-length album Banners of Blood was released on February 11, 2021.

January 23, 2021

New album 'Banners Of Blood' to be released February 11

On February 11, we will release our long-awaited new full-length album, entitled ‘Banners Of Blood'. 'Banners Of Blood' is our sixteenth full-length and features twelve tracks of uncompromising metal music, blending first wave Black Metal and traditional Heavy Metal in a way only Countess can. The albums features two songs in Dutch and, for the first time, a song in Russian: 'Ledovoye Poboishche' ('Battle On The Ice') tells the story of Alexander Nevsky's great victory over the crusader knights in 1242 CE.

The new album also marks the first appearance on a Countess full-length of guitarist Valgard and keyboardist Häxa.

Everyone can get a first taste of the new album as of today. A digital single has been released for the song 'Last Man Of Honour'. This song was inspired by the life of Saigo Takamori, who is often considered to have been the last true samurai and who was born on this day in 1828 CE. The single is available on all major platforms such as Spotify, Apple Music and Deezer as well as a free download on our offical Bandcamp site.

The album's full track list:

1. Sword Of The Millennia

2. Below The Sky

3. Wall Of The North

4. Ledovoye Poboishche

5. Night Of The Fallen

6. Banners Of Blood

7. Pagan Man

8. Fall Of The Achaemenid Empire

9. Slachting Der Saksen

10. Last Man Of Honour

11. Toortsen Uit Het Verleden

12. Sword Symphony

More News on Website and on our Blog

Tour dates
Facebook YouTube Twitter Bandcamp iTunes Spotify Last fm Soundcloud
Facebook YouTube Twitter Bandcamp iTunes Spotify LastFM Soundcloud